Is Grantchester based on a book?

ITV'S SMASH hit murder mystery show Grantchester has become a firm favourite amongst viewers over the years.

The show is now heading into it's seventh series, with some fans wondering where the story originated from.

Is Grantchester based on a true story?

Grantchester kicked off on ITV back in 2014 with James Norton and Robson Green leading the cast.

James left in 2019 and now Tom Brittney joins Robson in solving crime in the Cambridgeshire village.

Fans may wonder if the show is based on a true story – but it's not.

Instead Grantchester is based on a series of novels called The Grantchester Mysteries.

What are The Grantchester Mysteries about

The Grantchester Mysteries is a series of crime fiction books of short stories by the British author James Runcie,

They begin during the 1950s in Grantchester, a village near Cambridge.

more on grantchester


Grantchester cast: Who stars in season six?


Here's what time you can catch the new series of Grantchester

Cam and see

Where is Grantchester filmed? Filming locations and village behind the series

camp chaos

ITV's Grantchester renewed for series 6 tracking holiday camp hit by sad death

The books feature the clergyman-detective Canon Sidney Chambers, an Honorary Canon of Ely Cathedral.

The full list of Grantchester Mysteries books are:

  1. Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death (2012)
  2. Sidney Chambers and The Perils of the Night (2013)
  3. Sidney Chambers and The Problem of Evil (2014)
  4. Sidney Chambers and The Forgiveness of Sins (2015)
  5. Sidney Chambers and The Dangers of Temptation (2016)
  6. Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love (2017)
  7. The Road to Grantchester (2019)

When is Grantchester back on ITV?

ITV crime drama Grantchester returns for a seventh series, with Robson Green as DI Geordie Keating and Tom Brittney as Grantchester’s Reverend Will Davenport.

The show kicks off on ITV on Friday March 11, at 9pm. 

This series is set in the long hot summer of 1959 and wedding season is in full swing in the Cambridgeshire village of Grantchester.

As the Reverend Will Davenport unites happy couples in holy matrimony, Detective Inspective Geordie Keating is busy as ever investigating a range of local murder cases.

With a new decade just around the corner, the question of what the future holds is on everyone's minds, not least Will's.

But before the 50s roll over into the swinging sixties there are some crimes to solve and some life-changing decisions to be made that might change life in Grantchester forever.  

    Source: Read Full Article